Volunteer Awards

The recent Archery GB AGM wasn’t just about voting on changes and electing boards, it’s also where the governing body hands out awards to honour the amazing service volunteers do for archery.

The gold plaquette went to Sue Williamson, who founded Long Mynd Archers, runs the WA Feathers and Arrow awards, has run numerous high-level competitions and who has acted as junior national squad administrator, as well as her county coaching organiser.

Silver plaquettes went to Bryan Woodcock, Peter Turner, Fred Stevens, and Alan Lake (posthumous). Bronze plaquettes were awarded to Tony Naylor, Victoria Duncan, Jayne and Peter Curnock, Edna McGowan, Chrissie Mortlock, David Poyner, Connor Dexter, Sharon Pennell and Ann and Colin Holmes.

Awarded honourary life membership of Archery GB were Helen George, Chris Marsh, multi-Olympian Alison Williamson (pictured), Graham Harris and Pam Tonkin.

On the national awards front, the winners were as follows:

Hartwell Trophy for Archer of the Year: Chris Battersby

Gussy Trophy: Carl Harding

Toxophilus Trophy: Bracken Company of Archers

Archery GB club website award: Norton Archers

Archery GB county website award: Kent

World Archery Europe Diplomas: Derrick Lovell and Neil Dimmock


Tagged with: , , ,
Posted in News
Follow Us